

WHITE EARTH RESERVATION

CHAIRMAN Michael Fairbanks SECRETARY-TREASURER Leonard Alan Roy

DISTRICT I Raymond Auginaush, Sr. DISTRICT II Kathy Goodwin DISTRICT III Eugene "Umsy" Tibbetts

Representative Collin Peterson 2204 Rayburn HOB Washington, DC 20515 (VIA EMAIL)

February 28, 2020

Dear Mr. Peterson,

Your continued support for White Earth Nation and its members is much appreciated. We are requesting a federal recognition bill for the Sandy Lake Band of Mississippi Chippewa pursuant to Minnesota Chippewa Tribe Resolution 64-20 as enacted by the Tribal Executive Committee effective January 31, 2020 in Mahnomen, Minnesota. Attached is proposed language for you to consider.

Resolution 64-20 states that the Tribe "is in full support of the efforts of the non-removable Sandy Lake Band of Mississippi Chippewa and hereby presents this resolution of support as the Sandy Lake Band of Mississippi Chippewa continue their efforts to have their federal status restored."

The non-removable Sandy Lake Band of Mississippi Chippewa are descendants of the Chippewa that entered into the treaties of 1825, 1826, 1837, 1847, 1854, 1855, 1863, 1864, and 1867 with the United States and whose history as an independent, separate, and distinct tribe has spanned centuries.

The request for a federal recognition bill would need to address two major components. First, their historical homelands that are currently held in Minnesota Chippewa Tribe trust status would need to transfer these lands directly to the Sandy Lake Band of Mississippi Chippewa for its historical significance and for the Band's future prosperity. Furthermore, the original exterior boundaries would need to be reestablished for the benefit of the Band. Second, to ensure the Band's success and to expedite their recognition, the Sandy Lake Band of Mississippi Chippewa should be added as a Band of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe.

We as a sovereign nation humbly endorse this message to support our relatives at Sandy Lake and it cateries the full might of the White Earth Nation.

Michael Fairbanks

Chairman

Leonard Alan Røy

Secretary/Treasurer

Eugene Tibbetts

Raymond Auginaush, Sr. District I Representative

Kathy Goodwin

District II Representative

District III Representative